PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

support post-thumbnails

1. I miss the possiblility to assign a "Post Fields/Image" (or "Post Fields/Custom Field/File Upload") to be a post-thumbnail.
    I'm not a Wordpress coder, but it seems that post-thumbnail just a specific kind of
    Custom Fields, so adding this feature could not be a big problem?

Thanks
    Frank

Posted 13 years ago on Wednesday January 5, 2011 | Permalink
  2. It is a planned feature. It won't be in the 1.5 release but we do plan on adding this capability.

3. Great news!

Next question: When do you plan to announce 1.6 ;-)

4. This is a feature I'd very much like to see added, espeically as the Featured Image / post-thumbnail function is now becoming ubiquitous in WordPress themes and people are using them for all sorts of new things.

At this point I'd settle for a hardcoded add-on to slot into the existing plugin files to add a new option under Post Fields for Featured Image.

Posted 13 years ago on Monday January 31, 2011 | Permalink
  5. There's a solution right here that works perfectly. Just copy, paste into functions.php and you're flying:

http://forum.gravityhelp.com/topic/auto-setting-the-the_post_thumbnail?replies=6#post-17879

Posted 13 years ago on Tuesday February 8, 2011 | Permalink
  6. DesignWerks

I have tried adding the code from http://forum.gravityhelp.com/topic/auto-setting-the-the_post_thumbnail?replies=6#post-17879 to the functions.php file of two different WP 3.1.1 installations with different themes and get the dreaded white screen for both until I delete it. Any insights?

Posted 13 years ago on Monday April 11, 2011 | Permalink
  7. skeg64

Hi,