PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

Actions not firing, or not working

1. gargleblaster

This is my first attempt at WP programming, so there's no telling what I'm doing wrong. :-)

First, I added
    include_once (TEMPLATEPATH . '/user-functions.php');
    into functions.php.

I wasn't seeing anything from my user-functions.php code, so switched from include_once to a simple include
    include (TEMPLATEPATH . '/user-functions.php');
    thinking that this was an issue of not reloading my code changes, but it made no difference.

I have all kinds of debugging echos in user-functions.php, but I'm not seeing anything. So, my first question is how do you do debugging on functions that happen before a page is rendered? I get the feeling my echos are being emitted too early in the request cycle, so they're being lost. What else can I do to see my debugging output?

But I wouldn't be asking questions about debugging if my hooks were working as I expect. Here's my ugly code (originally based on some code I found in this forum):

add_action("gform_post_submission", "post_submission_handler");
    function post_submission_handler($entry){
        global $wpdb;

$results = $wpdb->get_results($wpdb->prepare("  SELECT l.*, field_number, value
                                FROM wp_rg_lead l
                                INNER JOIN wp_rg_lead_detail ld ON l.id = ld.lead_id
                                WHERE l.id=%d
                                ORDER BY  l.id, field_number", $entry["id"]));

echo "<h6>Form id: " . $form["id"] . "</h6>";
    echo "<h6>Post type: " . $post_data["post_type"] . "</h6>";
    echo "<h6>Form id: " . $form->id . "</h6>";
    echo "<h6>Post type: " . $post_data->post_type . "</h6>";