PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

Automatic credit card processing

1. kmcderm

Hello - I'm creating a form to accept payments. I'm a total newb at this. How do I setup a payment gateway to process the payments? I was hoping to just accept card info manually and process them manually (as one would with a phone order), but, the full card #s don't show on the "entries" screen.

Posted 11 years ago on Wednesday September 19, 2012 | Permalink
  2. Gravity Forms has three possible payment solutions: PayPal Pro, PayPal website payment standard and Authorize.net. All require a developer license. There are also some 3rd party add-ons for processing payments which were not created by Gravity Forms. The Stripe add-on is one of them: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gravity-forms-stripe/

If you already have a way to process credit cards offline and want to continue that, you can collect the credit card number with your form, but you would not use the credit card field, because as you learned, the credit card number is masked.

If you collect credit card information, you have to secure your site with an SSL certificate, then be sure that the credit card information is not sent in emails, and that your WordPress admin and database are secure as well. There are rules put in place by the credit card processing industry to ensure you keep their member's information secure and don't expose them to liability.

In the other topic I linked to, Rob explains a little bit on how to use a regular field to collect credit card information, and the concerns when doing so.

http://www.gravityhelp.com/forums/topic/credit-card-number#post-62839

Posted 11 years ago on Wednesday September 19, 2012 | Permalink