PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

How to permanently hook a piece of data linked to a specific user

1. ronboyd

First off forgive me if this is answered anywhere and just point me to the post (I have searched I promise).

I'm setting up a membership site and have used GF to collect some extra data that we need to give the site a better function. In a nutshell I have collected an affiliate ID and I would like to now use that data to form an affiliate link that will be displayed at the top of every post/page that that particular user visits so that it is always available to them but only them.

I have some limited coding knowledge but I do follow instruction very well.

The information is collected in a simple 3 field form which I have prepopulated the name field with {user:user_login}. The form works and collects the data I require and then redirects to where I want it to.

Now I want to work out how to tie that information to that particular user and then display it in the manner already mentioned.

So any clues or help is greatfully accepted.

Regards Ron

Posted 13 years ago on Tuesday December 28, 2010 | Permalink
  2. How are users being created? Are you using the User Registration Add-On to create users or are users initially being created another way or may already exist?

3. ronboyd

I knew I would miss something out sorry !

The users are created via Wishlist membership software unfortunately their registration form is encrypted so I can't add any extra fields to that so instead I have them directed straight to a page with the afforementioned GF on it which I have just three fields on.

Name which I prepopulate with {user:user_login}
    Phone user entry
    Affiliate ID user entry