PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

Use Gravity Forms for blog post

1. rswingle001

I apologize but I'm relatively new to Wordpress. I have a blog that I would like users to be able to submit their own posts to.

Can I use Gravity to be able to provide a form that would do that?

Specifically, how would the form show up on the blog? Also, where and how does the form processing happen such that when they hit "submit", their post shows up on the page?

Thanks

Posted 13 years ago on Wednesday February 9, 2011 | Permalink
  2. Yes, you can create a form using Gravity Forms that allows users to submit posts to your sites.

Gravity Forms has fields called Post Fields. When you use Post Fields these create a WordPress post. The Post Title and Post Body fields have field settings that allow you to configure things such as the post status (draft, published, etc.), the post author, etc.

The form would show up on your site wherever you insert it. Forms can be inserted into posts or pages via shortcode, in theme template files via function call or in a sidebar via the form widget.

What happens after they submit the post depends on how you configure the Post Fields. It's either created as a Draft and you then have to review and publish the post, or it is automatically published. That is up to you.

Just remember that only Post Fields create WordPress Posts. The other fields only create Gravity Forms Entries.

3. rswingle001

Thanks Carl. Good news.

Here's where I'm trying to add the form: http://hiddentreasurecommunity.com/aha-blog-2

A few questions:

1. Can I limit the posts to be in one category so that posts only show up on that page and don't show up elsewhere on my site?